Thank You To Our Sponsors

The Official Website of Valletta Football Club

Our Next Game

Valletta FC


Europa League – Valletta 3 SP La Fiorita 0

UEFA Europa League

Valletta took a significant step towards reaching the second qualifying round of the Europa League after they beat La Fiorita 3- 0 in Serravalle last night.

It was a solid display from Mark Miller’s men who after a slow start gradually took control of proceedings and were rarely troubled by the San Marino side.

Denni scored at either side of half- time of yesterday’s first leg while Ian Zammit came off the bench to add a late third goal.

The three- goal lead leaves the Citizens upbeat to finish the job in next week’s second leg and set up a second qualifying round tie against Belarus side FK Minsk.

The match was evenly balanced in the opening stages, but the Citizens gradually got more into the picture and deservedly took the lead on the half hour.

La Fiorita defender Federico Rinaldi handled the ball inside his area in an attempt to anticipate Ian Azzopardi and the referee immediately pointed to the spot.

From the resultant penalty, Denni beat Simone Montanari with a low drive.

On the restart, Miller switched to a five- man midfield when he introduced Shaun Bajada for defender Jonathan Caruana.

The move yielded instant dividends as Valletta doubled their lead five minutes into the second half.

Dyson Falzon’s throughball released Denni who showed great footwork before beating Montanari.

Zammit came on for Denni on 85 minutes but he still found time to add a third in stoppage time.

Source – Times of

La Fiorita – Simone Montanari, Simone Confalone, Francesco Ceci, Albero Mazzola, Gianluca Bollini, Danilo Rinaldi (Alessandro Guidi), Federico Emmanuel Rinaldi, Fabio Bollini (Frank Bahiano), Samuele Sorbera, Andy Selva (Giacomo Gualtieri), Daniele Bucchi.

Valletta – Pietro Marinio, Jonathan Caruana (Shaun Bajada), Ian Azzopardi, Yessous Camilleri, Ryan Fenech, Roderick Briffa, Barry Hamza, Denni Rocha Dos Santos (Ian Zammit), Dyson Falzon (Llywelyn Cremona), Jason Vandelannoite, Luke Dimech.

Referee: Lorenc Jemini (Albania)
Ass. Referees: Ermal Barushi (Albania), Emigers Ganci (Albania)
Fourt Official: Blerim Ziri (Albania)