Thank You To Our Sponsors

The Official Website of Valletta Football Club

Our Next Game

Valletta FC


Day 24: Valletta 2 Qormi 0

Valletta vs Qormi

Valletta moved four points clear at the top of the BOV Premier League when they eased past Qormi 2-0 at the Hibs Stadium.

The Citizens took the ground running and after only two minutes Jhonnattann was put clear by Nafti but his shot came off the upright.

But Valletta were not to be denied as three mintues later they took the lead.

Lywelyn Cremona, handed a starting berth at the expense of the injured Roderick Briffa, picked up a short clearance to hit a thundering drive that gave no chance to Qormi goalkeeper Jean Matthias Vella.

On seven minutes, the Qormi goalkeeper was alert to tip round the post Rafael Ledesma’s inswinging drive.

Six minutes from the break, Ryan Camilleri showed great footwork to move inside the box before pulling the ball back to Abdelkarim Nafti who fired over.

On the restart, Valletta maintained their initiative and their pressure finally yielded a second on 58 minutes.

Nafti caused all the damage from the left channel as the Tunisian moved past his marker before sending a low cross into the path of Mifsud who stabbed the ball home.

Fifteen minutes from time, Mifsud outsped his marker before laying the ball to substitute Jurgen Suda who fired wide.

Qormi came close to pulling a goal back on 77 minutes when Tensior Gusman stormed into the City area before sending a low cross towards Djamel Leeflang but the Dutchman was blocked by the onrushing Henry Bonello.

Source – times of

VALLETTA – H. Bonello, R. Ledesma (J. Suda), U. Calistus, J. Caruana, M. Mifsud, J. Benites (R. Fenech), L. Cremona, R. Camilleri, J. Gill Cruz, C. Pani, A. Nafti (J. Borg).

QORMI – J. M. Vella, E. Vella, T. Gusman, D. Leeflang, Y. Yankem, A. Cassar, R. Micallef (K. Magro), N. Ojada, T. Vella, K. Spiteri (L. Farrugia), C. Gauci.

Date: 27.02.2016

Scorers: 5′ L. Cremona, 59′ M. Mifsud

Yellow Cards: J. Gill (V), E. Vella, R. Micallef, C. Gauci (Q)

Man of Match: J. Benites (V)

Referee: Matthew De Gabriele