Thank You To Our Sponsors

The Official Website of Valletta Football Club

Our Next Game

Valletta FC


Day 17 Valletta 2 Tarxien R. 1

Valletta Tarxien R.

Valletta were back to winning ways as they scored a goal in each half to overcome Tarxien Rainbows 2-1 at the Hibs Stadium.

The Citizens were soon in control and they took the lead after only two minutes. Jason Vandelannoitte sent a dipping cross inside the area which was not dealt with by Tarxien defender Fernando Lopez and in came Denni who planted the ball past goalkeeper Nicky Vella.

Valletta continued to dominate proceedings and on 25 minutes Abdelkarim Nafti and Denni showed great understanding with a series of short passes which was concluded with the latter seeing his firm drive pushed away by Vella.

On 28 minutes the woodwork denied Valletta a second goal. From a free-kick situation, Shaun Bajada saw his curling effort come off the post before the Rainbows defenders cleared away.

Valletta maintained the initiative after the restart and they managed to double their advantage ten minutes into the second half. They were awarded a free-kick from a central position and Nafti beat Vella with a curling drive.

Tarxien tried to get back into contention and their efforts were rewarded with a consolation goal three minutes from time. Jorge Santos Silva’s set-piece cross picked Marko Potezica who directed the ball past Valletta goalkeeper Yenz Cini.

Valletta striker Denni was voted as the BOV Player of the match.


VALLETTA – Y. Cini, E. Agius, H. Barry (I. Azzopardi), D. Dos Santos, J.P. Mifsud Triganza (I. Zammit), L. Dimech, A. Nafti (L. Cremona), O. Reyes Sanchez, S. Bajada, R. Briffa, J. Vandelannoite.

TARXIEN R. – N. Vella, C. Mamo, M. Caruana (L. Zahra), F. Lopez Alcantara, A. Agius, M. Potezica, M. Ciantar (G. Nagaoka, C. Menendez Hevia, K. Pulo (N. Vella), J. Mifsud, J. Santos Silva.

Date: 4.01.14 Time: 16:00 Venue: Hibs Ground

Scorers: 2′ D. Dos Santos, 58′ A. Nafti (V) M. Potezica (T)

Yellow Cards: R. Briffa

Man of Match: Denni Dos Santos (V)

Referee: Paul Caruana