Thank You To Our Sponsors
Di Mattia
5 Beans
The Proclinic
Browns Pharmacy

The Official Website of Valletta Football Club

Our Next Game

Valletta FC

National Stadium

28 April 2024
at 2:00 pm

Naxxar L.

Day 03 Valletta 3 Birkirkara 0

Valletta vs Birkirkara

Champions Valletta scored three second-half goals to storm to a convincing 3-0 victory over Birkirkara to pick up their first league win of the season.

The Citizens threatened after seven minutes when Miguel Alba hit a fierce drive that was pushed away by Kristijan Naumovski.

Birkirkara’s response soon arrived as two minutes later Michael Mifsud, who was facing his former employers for the first time, sped clear on the right before pulling the ball back to Terrence Agius who saw his effort deflected just past the upright.

On the half hour, Valletta goalkeeper Henry Bonello had to be alert to divert to a corner Paul Fenech’s dipping drive.

The City’s response was instant as on 36 minutes Bgjan Kaljevic nodded the ball into the path of the sprinting Fontanella who was denied by the excellent Naumovski.

A minute later, Santiago Malano released Kaljevic but the Montenegrin saw his shot blocked in two attempts by the Birkirkara goalkeeper.

On the restart, Valletta stepped up their ante and they stormed ahead on 55 minutes. Alba sent a curling cross towards the towering Kaljevic who anticipated his marker and head the ball past Naumovski.

Birkirkara were clearly in trouble as they looked bereft of ideas of how to create any problems to the solid Valletta rearguard.

Valletta doubled their lead ten minutes from time.

Joseph Zerafa released Fontanella who hit the ball past Naumovski.

Valletta were not finished yet and added a third on 83 minutes.

Malano played in substitute Bogdan Gavrila who kept his composure to beat the onrushing Naumovski.

Valletta striker Bojan Kaljevic was voted as the BOV Player of the match.


VALLETTA – H. Bonello, S. Borg, J. Borg, S. Malano, M. Piciollo, E. Pena Beltre, J. Zerafa, M. Alba (B. Gavrila), M. Fontanella, B. Kaljevic (K. Nwoko), R. Camilleri (J. Caruana)

BIRKIRKARA – K. Naumovski, A. Chapoval, M. Andelkovic, P. Fenech, K. Zammit (J. Grech), E. Ferreira, M. Mifusd, T. Agius (E. Herrera), M. Franca de Siqueira, U. Calistus, M. Basrak (M. Beerman)

Yellow Cards: M. Basrak, M. Mifsud, U. Calistus (B), J. Zerafa, E. Pena Beltre (V).

Scorers: 55′ B. Kaljevic, 82′ M. Fontanella, 84′ B. Gavrila

Man of Match: B. Kaljevic (V)

Referee: T. Farrugia Cann