Thank You To Our Sponsors
Di Mattia
5 Beans
The Proclinic
Browns Pharmacy

The Official Website of Valletta Football Club

Our Next Game

Valletta FC


Season 2008-2009

Valletta FC 2008-2009

Top left: Cleavon Frendo, Jonathan Bondin, Edmond Agius, Justin Grioli, David Camilleri, Jamie Pace, Dyson Falzon, Njongo Priso, Dylan Grima.

Middle Row left: Marcelo Tolomeotti, Ronald Attard (Physiotherapist), Anthony Caruana (Kit Manager), Andrew Hogg, Nicholas Vella, Anthon Cremona (Assistant coach), Jason Galea Lucas (Technical staff), Josef Mifsud.

Bottom left: Kenneth Scicluna, Steven Bezzina, Gilbert Agius, Nicky Saliba (Team manager),Victor Sciriha (President), Paul Zammit (Coach), Stefan Giglio, Ian Zammit, Luke Dimech.

The new players that joined Valletta FC, were Luke Dimech (Macclesfield Town), Edmund Agius (Hibernians), Jamie Pace (Marsaxlokk), Priso Doding (Msida SJ) and Marcelo Tolomeotti. In January 2009, Argentinean striker Sebastian Monesterolo rejoined Valletta F.C. and Brazilian striker Paolo Massaro with international midfielder Roderick Briffa. Marcelo Tolomeotti was released from the club in October.

The team was led by Coach Paul Zammit, this was the final year of the contract with Valletta F.C. The technical staff also had Anton Cremona as an assistant coach and Nicky Saliba as team manager.

Euro Challenge Cup

The season kicked off with the Euro Challenge Cup. In the first match Valletta and Birkirkara shared the spoils in a 1-1 result. In the second match Valletta met Marsaxlokk 2-2, defender Luke Dimech was sent off by the referee on the 31st minute.

UEFA Champions League

In the UEFA Champions League, Valletta were drawn against Artmedia Petrzalka. Although the Lilywhites had an excellent performance they lost both matches 2-0 and 1-0 respectively.

BOV Premier League

Valletta failed to retain the Premiership. After a total of 28 matches, Valletta had nine draws against Sliema W. 1-1, Hibernians 1-1, Tarxien R. 2-2, Birkirkara 2-2, Sliema 0-0, Birkirkara 1-1, Qormi 0-0, Floriana 0-0 and Hibernians 0-0. They lost against Birkirkara 3-1 and against Marsaxlokk 2-1. They collected 40 points; Hibernians won the Premiership with 42 points. The Citizens scored a total of 50 goals and acquired 18.

U*BET FA Trophy

The remarkable match of the season was in the Quarterfinals of the U*Bet FA trophy against rivals Floriana. The match ended 2-2 after extra time, and Valletta reached the next round through penalties after Paolo Massaro scored the important goal in the dying minutes of extra time.

In the semi-final, Valletta were drawn against Birkirkara. The Citizens won the match 2-0; Ian Zammit and Njongo Priso were the scorers. Valletta reached the final after an absence of eight years. The Final was played on May 29th in front of a massive crowd at the National Stadium. On the 49th minute, Valletta were reduced to ten men after Njongo Priso received marching orders by the referee following his second booking. On the 80th minute, the Citizens were losing 3-1 but a remarkable comeback with goals on the 92’ (gilbert Agius) and 95’ (Sebastian Monesterolo) levelled matters for the Citizens.

After extra time the match ended 3-3; Sliema wanderers won the U*Bet FA Trophy after eliminating Valletta through a penalty shoot-out 4-3. Njongo Priso was the club’s top scorer with 15 goals

Super Cup

The Super Cup final was played on 9th August 2009; Valletta won the final against rivals Birkirkara 2-0, and reserve goalkeeper Nicky Vella was the main protagonist during the match performing several saves throughout the match.