Thank You To Our Sponsors
Di Mattia
5 Beans
The Proclinic
Browns Pharmacy

The Official Website of Valletta Football Club

Our Next Game

Valletta FC


Day 7 Valletta 4 Pieta H 0

Valletta vs Pieta H

Valletta overwhelmed Pieta’ Hotspurs as four goals in quick succession put the game to bed in the opening half an hour.

Mario Fontanella scored a splendid goal in the 12th minute when Miguel Alba made headway on the right before setting up the Italian striker who hit home first time.

He could have added to his team’s tally but his diagonal effort smacked against the near post.

But the Lilywhites were soon on song with Fontanella adding ‘colour’ of their attacking extravagances.

Alba was again the provider as the former Floriana striker belied his diminutive stature to rise above the Hotspurs’ towering defence and nod home the Spaniard’s cross.

The Hotspurs could not pick up the broken pieces and their huge gaps in midfield were showing.

Hotspurs’ custodian Nicky Vella failed to hold a skidding shot from Matteo Piciollo and Bojan Kaljevic pounced on the rebound to head the ball home.

In their next foray, Valletta had Fontanella procuring a penalty- committed by Tony – for his team. Referee Darryl Agius was in no doubt when awarding the maximum punishment and Alba ignored ‘Piciollo, Piciollo’ chants by the Valletta supporters to send Vella the wrong way from the spot-kick.

The blitz on the Hotspurs’ fort had been completed. The second period turned out to be a formality.

Miguel Alba was voted the BOY player of the match.


VALLETTA – H. Bonello, S. Borg (J. Caruana), M. Piciollo. R. Camilleri, I. Saleh, J. Zerafa (J. Borg), M. Alba, M. Fontanella, B. Kaljevic (B. Gavrila), R. Muscat, S. Malano.

PIETA’ H. – N. Vella, T. Ose, T. Bartolo, N. Pace Cocks, J. Busuttil (Q. Bergman), G. Mensah, M. Artiaga (D. Agius), C. Grech, S. Nakamura (N. Pisani), I. Jalo Ishaya, O.Macedo.

Yellow Cards: J. Zerafa (V), O. Macedo (P)

Scorers: 12′, 22′ M. Fontanella, 28′ B. Kaljevic, 32′ M. Alba (Pen).

Man of Match: M. Alba (V)

Referee: D. Agius