Thank You To Our Sponsors
Di Mattia
5 Beans
The Proclinic
Browns Pharmacy

The Official Website of Valletta Football Club

Our Next Game

Valletta FC


Day 25 Valletta 1 Floriana 1

Valletta vs Floriana

Despite playing for over forty-five minutes in ten men, Floriana managed to hold Valletta in a 1-1 draw at the National Stadium. A draw which would allow Balzan to join the Citizens on top should they beat Senglea Athletic.

After just one minute, Valletta appealed for a penalty after Enmy Pena Beltre was pushed inside the area by Enzo Ruiz but referee Alan Mario Sant waved play on.

The Citizens however took the lead on the 9th minute when off a cross by Kyrian Nwoko from the right, Miguel Angel Alba left the ball for the unmarked Matteo Piciollo to hit home.

Floriana went close on the 21st minute with a Sebastian Nayar close range effort which was blocked by a defender following a freekick by Mario Vella, headed down by Fontanella. Three minutes later, Juninho Cabral’s overhead kick ended wide following a cross from the right.

Two minutes from the end of the first half, the Greens were reduced to ten men as Jurgen Pisani was sent off for spitting at Miguel Angel Alba following a rough tackle by the latter on the Floriana midfielder.

Eleven minutes in the second half, Matteo Piciollo received a good assist on the left but rather than concluding, served Santiago Malano whose attempt ended wide. Floriana replied with a header by Fontanella which was parried by Henry Bonello on the 58th but on the 64th, a Matteo Piciollo volley ended just wide.

On the 68th minute, the Citizens thought they had doubled the score when Enmy Pena Beltre’s powerful drive from the right hit the upright with Matteo Piciollo hitting home off the rebound but the goal was disallowed for Kyrian Nwoko’s offside position.

Floriana equalised on the 74th minute thanks to Enzo Ruiz who headed the ball home from close range following a Maurizio Vella freekick from the left.

Source –

VALLETTA – H. Bonello, S. Borg, R. Camilleri, S. Malano, M. Piciollo (J. Zerafa), K. Nwoko, J. Borg, E. Pena Beltre, R. Saleh (M. Mifsud), R. Muscat. M. Alba (D. Dos SAntos).

FLORIANA – I. Akpan, S. Nayar, E. Pepe, E. Ruiz, S. Pisani, M. Vella (D. Grima), J. Cabral, J. Pisani, A. Cini, M. Fontanella, E. Marcelina.

Yellow Cards: S. Borg (V), M. Vella, J. Cabral (F)

Red Card: J. Psani

Scorers: 9′ M. Piciollo (V), 74′ E. Ruiz (F).

Man of Match: S. Nayar (F)

Referee: A. Sant