Thank You To Our Sponsors

The Official Website of Valletta Football Club

Our Next Game

Valletta FC


Day 11 Valletta 0 Hamrun S 0

Valletta vs Hamrun S

Valletta were denied the chance of reclaiming top spot in the Premier League standings after they played out a goalless draw against Ħamrun Spartans at the National Stadium.

It was a disappointing result for the Citizens who had dominated the first half.

Valletta started strongly and after six minutes Kyrian Nwoko dispossessed Zerafa inside the area but his effort was cleared off the line by Tiago.

Ħamrun responded on 14 minutes when Bokila dispossessed Steve Borg and served Faria who immediately served Francisco Marino Clavero who fired over.

On 27 minutes, Ibrahim Saleh served Piciollo who saw his shot blocked by Jake Galea.

The Spartans suffered a blow on 33 minutes when they lost goalkeeper Galea to injury and was replaced by Steve Sultana.

The former Xewkija custodian was soon called into action on 42 minutes when he charged out of his goal to block Nwoko who was clean through on goal.

On the restart, the Spartans started to get more into the picture but they still struggled to create any danger to the Valletta goal.

On 62 minutes Faria sent a fine cross inside the area but neither Marino Clavero nor Bokila could make contact with the ball.

Valletta were increasingly showing signs of frustration as they were struggling to find openings in the Spartans defence.

Fifteen minutes from time, Valletta fans shouted ‘goal’ as Cruz Gill connected to Rowen Muscat’s corner-kick but Sultana was well positioned to block.

Valletta stepped up the pressure in the final minutes but for all their pressure they rarely tested Sultana in the Spartans goal.

BOV Player of the match: Kyrian Nwoko (Valletta).

Source – Times of Malta

VALLETTA – H. Bonello, R. Camilleri, K. Nwoko, J. Cruz Gill, S. Malano, R. Saleh, J. Borg, S. Borg, M. Piciollo (M. Mifsud), D. Dos Santos (R. Muscat), U. Calistus.

HAMRUN S. – J. Grech (S. Sultana), G. De Castro, D. Zerafa, W. Bokila, T. Caruana, C. Zaccardo, T. Souza Da Silveira, T. Espindola, F. Marino (L. Micallef), D. Camilleri, A. Faria (J. Galea)

Yellow Cards: G. De Castro, C. Zaccardo, T. Da Silveira, A. Faria (H) S. Borg (V)

Man of Match: K. Nwoko (V)

Referee: A. Mario Sant