Euro Cup Valletta 5 Birkirkara 0 Published on: 28-06-2012

Valletta scored four goals in the first half as they overwhelmed a youthful Birkirkara side to the tune of 5-0 in their final Euro Cup match this evening at the Hibs Stadium.

In a one-sided first half, Valletta tore a much-changed Birkirkara side apart.

Steve Borg set the champions on their way after 14 minutes, heading the ball past Birkirkara goalkeeper Reuben Gauci after getting on the end of William Barbosa’s cross.

Ten minutes later, Barbosa made it 2-0, his wonderful shot from outside the box giving Gauci no chance.

There was a minor scare for Valletta when goalkeeper Andre Krul fumbled Jean Pierre Mifsud Triganza’s cross-shot from a free-kick but the Citizens quickly re-asserted their authority.

Five minutes from half-time, Birkirkara’s Ryan Camenzuli conceded a penalty after he was deemed to have brought down Denni in the box. Mifsud rifled the ball past Gauci from the spot.

In the dying stages of the first half, Valletta went 4-0 up thanks to Denni who headed home from Roderick Briffa’s cross.

The Citizens stayed in control in the second half but Birkirkara coped better with the pressure.

Cleaven Frendo, a second-half substitute, was unlucky when his shot was blocked by team-mate Denni on Birkirkara’s goal-line.

Gauci then beat away another effort from Frendo while Jhonnattan fired over 17 minutes from the end.

The woodwork denied Barbosa a second goal as the Brazilian’s screamer shook the crossbar. Krul then touched Mifsud Triganza’s free-kick over the bar.

In the final minutes, Mifsud rounded the scoring with a low strike after receiving from Frendo.

Source: Times of Malta

VALLETTA - A. Krul, D. Dos Santos, J. Da Silva, J. Caruana (D. Grima), I. Azzopardi (C.Frendo), S. Borg,  W. Barbosa,  R. Briffa (D. Falzon), R. Da Rocha Filo, M. Mifsud, J. Benites Da Conceicao.

BIRKIRKARA  - R. Gauci, C. Johanson, P. Borg, J.P. Mifsud Triganza, R. Pereira, M. Clinch, R. Camenzuli (A. Cassar), F. Zammit, D. Spiteri (I. Schembri), M. Camilleri, O. El Ghaoti (R. Taliana)

Euro Cup
Date: 28-06-12     Time: 18:30    Venue: Hibs Ground

Scorers: 14' Steve Borg, 24' William Barbosa, 41', 90'  Michael Mifsud, 46' D. Dos Santos.

Yellow Cards: none

Referee: Esther Azzopardi